Ever since Tesla released a hotly anticipated feature called Dashcam, there're ten of thousands of videos flooding the internet everyday showing how cool it is. There're videos ranging from parking lots to garages, to road trips, to accidents, and videos of how Autopilot saved drivers from accidents.
Then comes Sentry Mode!
Now Tesla's cameras can capture malicious activities around your car. Dozen of thieves have been captured on videos when breaking into Tesla's cars.
Here we would like to give you a brief and straightforward explaination on how Dashcam and Sentry Mode store video footages on your Micro SD Card or USB Flash Drive:
Dashcam: onboard cameras are constantly recording videos around your car. It then automatically stores those videos onto the flash drive, up to an hour of footages. When an hour is up, it will automatically overwrite current footages with new videos. So, at anytime, there is 1 hour worth of video stored on your flash drive. If you don't want old footages to be deleted, you can tap on the Dashcam icon and it will save the last 10 minutes of videos to a folder (on the same flash drive) called "Save Clips". When you open the "TeslaCam" folder, there're 2 folders: "RecentClips" and "SavedClips". Those are 2 places that Dashcam stores all its videos.
Sentry Mode: operates a little bit differently. This is a security feature that once turned on will record any activity nearby your car. Because it is for security purposes, recorded videos will not be automatically deleted or overwritten. All Sentry Mode videos will be stored on the flash drive until they are manually deleted by the user. For this reason, Sentry Mode will fill up your drive capacity. Once this happen, you will see the Dashcam icon appears with an "x" on the top right instead of a "red dot". No new video from either Dashcam and Sentry Mode will be stored after this. You will need to manually delete videos to make room for news video again.
V10 update: as of version 10 of Tesla software, your car will automatically delete old sentry clips to make room for newer sentry clips. You don't have to manually delete old sentry clips anymore. However, as your drive get more videos and almost full, you might get a message saying the drive is too slow for recording. This is a sign that you need to manually make plenty more room for your Sentry and Dashcam to function properly.
We hope this little explanation helped you understand Dashcam and Sentry Mode a little bit more.
Enjoy and remember to share if you find this article helpful.
You might also like: USB Flash Drive v.s. Micro SD Card for Dashcam Recording